RSS

Reply from Sen. Jerry Moran

24 Jan

Below is the reply I received today from Sen. Jerry Moran regarding my email to our congrerssional delegation:

Dear

 The U.S. Constitution guarantees that “the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.”  Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding the most recent attempts to restrict the Second Amendment rights of Americans. 

 On January 16, 2013, President Obama called on Congress to ban automatic weapons and magazines that hold ten rounds or more. The President’s agenda is not a strategy that will protect our nation from violence. We have to be honest about what works and what does not.  President Clinton’s own Justice Department admitted that the 1994 “assault weapons” ban did almost nothing to affect crime.

 Earlier today, Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), the author of the 1994 ban, introduced legislation that prohibits the sale or transfer of “assault weapons,” including some semiautomatic firearms. The passage of the 1994 ban was before my time in Congress, but I voted against reauthorization of the ban when it expired in 2004, and will always vote to protect the inherent right of Americans to own firearms.  It is wrong to punish law-abiding gun owners with new laws that only empower criminals who disregard such laws.

 In addition to the current proposals in Washington that threaten our Second Amendment rights, an international treaty would infringe upon our firearm freedoms. In July 2012, I authored a letter to President Obama signed by 50 of my Senate colleagues expressing our opposition to the ratification of a United Nations Arms Trade Treaty that in any way threatens the gun rights of Americans.  The next round of negotiations on this dangerous treaty are set to take place March 18-28 in New York. Whether it be gun control proposals in Washington or international treaties that infringe upon the Second Amendment rights of Americans, I am committed to protecting the Constitution and defending the rights of American citizens.

 I am grateful for the opportunity Kansans have given me to serve them in the United States Senate.  If you are interested in learning more about my efforts on your behalf, I encourage you to visit moran.senate.gov.  Please let me know if I can be of service to you or your family in the future.

Very truly yours,    

Jerry Moran

 
Comments Off on Reply from Sen. Jerry Moran

Posted by on January 24, 2013 in Second Amendment

 

Comments are closed.

 
