RSS

Cong. Yoder’s Response to my Email

11 Jan

On 1/8/13 Congressman Kevin Yoder responded to my email:

Dear …….,

 Thank you for taking the time to contact me and share your continued support for the 2nd Amendment and your right to keep and bear arms.  It is an honor to serve the people of Kansas in the United States Congress and your communication is a vital part of our legislative process. 

 After the tragic events that took place at Sandy Hook Elementary, the debate in Washington over gun control was reignited. No words can do justice to the evil nature of this crime or the mentally unstable person who carried it out.  

 The President has put together a commission to explore different ways to insure that a tragedy of that magnitude might be prevented in the future. However, I am skeptical that creating more gun laws will result in safer communities. I look at areas like Chicago and Washington D.C. where gun laws are among the most strict in the nation and find that they have some of the highest armed crime rates in the United States. I am reminded of a famous quote by Benjamin Franklin who said, “Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither.” We need to find effective ways to protect our children and those most vulnerable in our community without infringing on Constitutional rights.

 In the wake of tragedies like this, it is sensible to reevaluate how we view public safety, protection of our children, and in this case, mental health. I will be listening and exploring possibilities that address these issues. As your elected member of Congress, my staff and I will continue to protect your 2nd Amendment rights here in Congress. If steps are taken by the President or other members of Congress to restrict your 2nd Amendment rights, be sure that I will be your voice in the debate. 

 My staff and I are dedicated to providing outstanding services to the constituents of our district. One of the ways we do this is by providing constant updates on my work in Kansas and in Washington through social media. To stay connected and follow every vote that I take in Congress please “Like” my page on Facebook (www.facebook.com/congressmankevinyoder), follow me on Twitter (www.twitter.com/repkevinyoder), and visit my website (www.yoder.house.gov) to sign up for my weekly e-newsletter.

 Again, I want to thank you for contacting me and sharing your thoughts. Please don’t hesitate to contact me in the future if I can be of service.

Sincerely,

Kevin Yoder

 
Comments Off on Cong. Yoder’s Response to my Email

Posted by on January 11, 2013 in Second Amendment

 

Comments are closed.

 
